Tea and books

Yesterday I re-visited a tearoom in Perth I wasn’t at all sure I was going to include in my little guide book. I don’t know quite why I was so reluctant, because I’ve visited it a number of times before and as far as I can recall have never been disappointed with what I’ve ordered. Thanks to my dad, who is a staunch supporter of said tearoom and thought it really ought to go into the book, I gave it another chance yesterday and I’m very glad I did.

There’s a strong literary connection with this tearoom, and that is certainly one of its charms. It was given a make-over a while ago, possibly a couple of years ago now, and was transformed from what I used to think of as rather a dingy school dinners sort of place into a welcoming and inspiring place to take tea and indulge in a little light reading. Quotations from famous authors on the subject of tea and coffee line the walls, and there are shelves of second-hand books for sale at the bargain price of 50p a pop.

Fairtrade tea and coffee (of above average quality, in my opinion) is served, alongside a variety of cold drinks, including smoothies. There’s a good range of traybakes, sponge cakes, biscuits and scones, and everything is very reasonably priced. The location, perhaps more than anything else, attracts a wide age range, and because they haven’t packed the place with as many tables as could be squeezed in, there’s plenty of room for buggies and prams, and for wheelchairs to manoeuvre in and out.

I would like to whet your appetite with a photograph of the tea and scones consumed there yesterday morning, but unfortunately I forgot to take my camera with me.

Leave a Reply

