Cow bouncer and posing sheep

This morning it was bitingly cold in sunny Perthshire, perfect weather for staying indoors with the heating on, hugging a hot water bottle and snuggling up in a duvet. However, if one is truly dedicated to the pursuit of good tearooms, one shuns the duvet in favour of hat, scarf and gloves (and, indeed, quite a few other items of clothing) and ventures forth into the frigid world outside.

Perhaps yesterday’s post had affected me, for although the dour Dundonians didn’t penetrate my dreams, I did feel inclined to walk to a tearoom this morning, rather than drive. (Incidentally, I did dream of tearooms, and it’s become a very common theme for my dreams recently. This is perhaps not too surprising, but it’s a little distubring when I struggle to distinguish between my daytime excursions to tearooms and the tearoom visits I make by night. Thankfully, I have photographic evidence to help me out.)

The tearoom I visited this morning, in the company of my able and delightful assistant, is one that has been destined for my tearoom guide book ever since I decided to write it. It’s only been open for about a year but it’s already become a firm favourite with the local community and understandably so. Here are a couple of shots of the inside:

They have a good selection of cakes, including traybakes, sponge cakes, tea loaf and scones, and although I was tempted by the Victoria sponge that had just been made fresh this morning, I went for my usual order here of a fruit scone and a decaf latte (ever since my sister had a pot of tea made with tepid water I’ve avoided the tea in here, although I’m pretty sure that was an unusual mistake because I’ve found it to be a very reliable tearoom otherwise):

As always, both scone and latte were excellent, but I noticed a difference in the scones this time. I would say they were about 50% bigger than they usually are, and when a scone is as nice as this one was, more of it is a very good thing.

I felt quite full after my refreshment and waddled happily to the library to mooch around the books in the warm. My local library is a very restful place when there are no squawking children in it, as was the case today, and I felt so relaxed and pleasantly replete that I took out 7 books at once.

Not long after returning home with my bagful of books, I buzzed off again to meet a chum for a late luncheon in a tearoom that’s only just inside the Perthshire boundary. (I’m afraid I had to take the car, as it would have taken me about 13 hours to walk there, it being nearly 40 miles away.)

This next tearoom is on quite a large scale and cosies up beautifully with a farm shop that sells a wide range of food, gifts, cookware, clothing, stationery and jewellery, besides other things. There is a full size model of a cow that doesn’t move much, or possibly at all, guarding the building outside:

Inside the shop there are plenty of attractive looking items for sale:

They have an interesting, if slightly unnerving, way of displaying their tights (see top shelf):

And lots of candles:

The tearoom is mostly made up of a large space full of wooden tables and chairs, but there is also a smaller lounge area outside the main room that has a few sofas and easy chairs, not to mention unusually coloured antlers:

The entrance to the main dining area:

They have some tasty morsels for sale in this tearoom, including quite a few hot options. I went for their delicious soup of the day, country vegetable, with crusty brown soda bread:

I think my favourite thing about today’s visit to this tearoom, apart from the tasty lunch with my delightful and lovely friend Sarah, was the stylish model displaying scarves and hats for sale in the shop:

17 thoughts on “Cow bouncer and posing sheep

  1. Oh I like the look of both your tearooms! There is obviously someone with a sense of humour doing the decorating in the second one you went to. I see the antlers look a bit like the legs wearing the tights!

    Thanks for the laugh about your night-time visits to tearooms and not always being able to differentiate!

    I visited a tearoom today and thought about you!

  2. What a delightful blog! I would really love to make it over to Scotland one day. Until then I will just enjoy reading about you tea, baked treats and coffee adventures from my desk in Atlanta. 🙂

  3. Aaw, I’m touched, thank you 🙂

    Please feel free to punctuate as much or as little as you like, I trust your judgement on such matters.

    You’re right, the decorations in the second tearoom are most amusing.

  4. Two beautifully decorated tearooms. I particularly like the wall colour on the first tearoom.
    The Victoria Sponge looks enormous. A slice of that would keep you going for a while!

  5. I’m going to demand more (any?) tearooms in my town!! Heck, I may have to open one myself… Interesting to see the (gorgeous) Victoria cake. Memories from my childhood – my best friend’s mom made them using her own homemade jam from raspberries she grew…absolute heaven!

    • That does indeed sound heavenly. What an excellent idea, you opening a tearoom. You certainly have the baking and cooking skills. If I lived in your neck of the woods I’d be straight round to your tearoom!

  6. Love the details you’ve captured in film. Not only the food but the quirky decor that’s in each establishment. If I am ever lucky enough to make it to Scotland one day, they’ll have to send a search party to find me amongst all the fabulous bric a brac and scenery 🙂

    • Thank you very much, this is a particularly fine example but there are a surprising number of quirky places with tearooms. I went to one yesterday, which will be appearing on here soon. I hope you do make it to Scotland one day, I love the idea of someone vanishing out of sight amongst the trinkets!

  7. TRD: Scots is an underappreciated literary resource, so it’s nice to think that scones have conquered the world…whether it be in their architecture (& here I’m thinking of the new Parliament building) or in the way they enjoy tea, the Scottish seem to have an innate respect for beauty and the quality of life that makes me think of Scandinavia… maybe it’s the northern latitude that makes your countryfolk so industrious in this regard….I (being part Scottish myself, thank you, Jack Simpson!) am hoping to be able to visit Edinburgh (and maybe Copenhagen) before too much longer. Bravo! RT

    • What a thoughtful and thought-provoking comment, thank you! I think you’re right about the northern latitudes, there is something shared in the psyche of the Scandinavians and the Scots, perhaps going back to the Viking invasions of Scotland. I’ve only been very briefly to Copenhagen but I was born and bred in Edinburgh and I would highly recommend it for a visit.

Leave a Reply

