Hidden gems

One of life’s little pleasures, and something I find very rewarding, is finding hidden gems in my own neck of the woods.

I used to enjoy voyages of discovery of this sort when I lived in Edinburgh, wandering through the streets and taking turnings that I hadn’t taken before, just to see what lay beyond my usual route. I was often delighted by surprising details – a nice architectural feature here, a beautiful garden there.

This afternoon, since we were both in need of a bit of fresh air and exercise, I whisked my delightful assistant off towards Kirriemuir and took a turn off the road that I had seen many times before but never investigated.

The road was marked ‘Silvie’, although I didn’t see any further signs of anywhere with that name. It was a very pleasant discovery; here are a few photos of what we saw:

22 thoughts on “Hidden gems

  1. Definitely a poster child for the benefits of living in the country. It means you get to see and enjoy gorgeous vista’s like this!

    It certainly looks warm, light & summery. Hopefully there’s some very decent picnic weather over there too!

    • Thank you Alice, a poster child for country living! I like it. šŸ™‚ It wasn’t terribly warm, unfortunately, in fact when in shadow I was wishing I had a hat and gloves! I keep hoping for picnic weather…..

  2. Aah to be able to step out and walk amidst that beautiful landscape! Cannot imagine it in the concrete jungle that I live in! Love the light in the last shot.

    • Thanks Madhu, I can understand that. I’ve spent much of my life in a concrete jungle, but now that I’m living in a more rural area I don’t think I could go back. I like the space and the fresh air too much!

  3. What a lovely spot, you have some glorioius countryside round your way.

    And the road sign reminds me of AC/DC – I’ll be humming Whole Lotta Rosie to myself all morning now, and that’s a very good thing šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

