Spring is in the air

I’ve been doing a fair bit of whingeing recently about the lack of spring in my part of the world.

Throughout April in Scotland we had some very cold days with frosts in the mornings, and icy winds that felt as if they belonged in midwinter. I was beginning to wonder if we were ever going to move into spring.

One sign of progress in the animal kingdom, however, has been evident for a while now and is a delight every year:

Baby sheep: a very welcome addition to the landscape

Although in early May, as I write this, there is still a cold wind and many of the trees in Perthshire seem loathe to produce new buds, the sunshine over the past few days has been enough to encourage the daffodils to trumpet their brilliant yellow glory.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Along quite a few of the small roads near where I live some public spirited people have planted thousands of daffodils, which is a cheering sight as you drive along:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In places they’re on both sides of the road, which is doubly delightful, and when they’re fully out and the sun hits them they positively blaze:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

43 thoughts on “Spring is in the air

  1. What a glorious way to start my morning looking at your lovely pictures…thank you, Lorna! And one of my favorite authors Alexander McCall Smith writes so eloquently about Scottland…one of these days I must cross the pond and visit your beautiful country!

    • OOPs! misspelled “Scotland”…sorry! It is five in the morning and I am only on my first cup of tea!

      • Thank you Brie, I do hope you can hop over the foam some day and take a tour of Scotland. I’m impressed that you’re drinking tea at 5a.m., that’s an early start, although if you’re going to get up at that time then tea is surely essential.

  2. What a wonderful part of the world you live in Lorna! The daffodils look wonderful. And just in case you need refreshment, there’s always a wonderful tearoom not far away!

    • You’re so right David, I don’t know what I’d do if I lived in a place bereft of tearooms. I’d have to move, obviously. As it happens, I had just been at a tearoom when I took these pics, so life was pretty much perfect.

  3. Love the daffodils along the roadside. So picturesque! Glad to see some signs of spring in your part of the world. The litle lamb is so cute too.

  4. Brilliant photos of the roadside verges, that is a real joy to see! And the little lamb – so cute! Our daffodils are out too, and I finally saw a swallow today. In 2011 our first swallows arrived on 19th April and last year we saw a swallow on Knoydart on 22nd April, though I don’t have a record of when they arrived here. Spring is so late! I’m just waiting for it to warm up now, it surely can’t be long!

    • Thank you Jo, and how exciting about the swallow! My mum’s been looking out for them because they nested under the roof previously, but so far there’s no sign of any. That’s interesting to see the dates from previous years, it just goes to show that this year spring really is later than usual.

  5. Awww! Love the daffodils. You’re reminding of my middle daughter who moved to Chicago this year. She’s been begging for Spring for at least a month and just posted a picture of a blooming crab apple (or some other fruit tree) as a sign of hope!

    We don’t get much in the way of tulips or daffodils here in Texas, but I just came back from New Jersey, where there were plenty.

    Nice post.

    • Thanks Marian, and I sympathise with your daughter. It seems that parts of the States have had a pretty long and cold winter this year, just as we have in the UK. We’ll all be very pleased when the weather starts to warm up, although how you cope with your summer temperatures in Texas I really don’t know.

  6. Cheerful daffodils, baby lambs and lovely winding roads! I feel like I should be reading an advert for Scotland (and there’s nothing wrong with that!) as I write this it’s a sunny, yet chilly morning, with blue skies and condensation on the windows. I think it’s safe to say the seasons have finally arrived too πŸ™‚

    • I remember when we were going into autumn last year and you were going into summer I was quite envious, but it was lovely to think of your warm weather when it was getting chilly here. It’s strange the way we’re always at opposites on the other side of the world.

  7. We are enjoying our first taste of colder nights here in Gippsland. We had our first fire last night so you can tell the weather is cooling off. It is still lovely during the day but there is that sense that the really cold weather will be here soon.
    Lovely to see your warming pictures of spring. The daffodils looks beautiful. Each season provides us with something to cheer us. Here in Autumn the colours of the leaves are what warms my heart.

    • Ah, now that’s a good thing about the nights drawing in, lighting a fire and cosying up in front of it. Lovely! As you say, each season has its own charms, and I agree with you that autumn is a beautiful time of year.

    • Thank you Lucinda, there’s no denying that spring is here now, hurrah! I even saw quite a bit of green budding going on yesterday on trees and hedges, which fairly cheered me up. πŸ™‚

    • That’s a shame, but thanks for the comment. Hopefully there will be more good weather to come although it’s gone a bit pear-shaped today. Still, that’s Blighty for you, eh?

    • It’s such a relief to see new life, isn’t it? Mind you, our weather is behaving very strangely here, we had hail yesterday and temperatures can be 20C+ one day and then 10C the next. Mad!

Leave a Reply

