Crocodile cake

One of my favourite tearooms, the Macmillan Coffee Shop in Perth, is soon to close for the season.

I’ve been popping along there as often as I can recently, to make the most of it while it’s still open. It’ll be a long wait between the end of this month and April 2014 when it reopens for business.

They always have interesting and delicious scones and cakes on offer, and on a recent visit I opted for a slice of chocolate and hazelnut cake.

I was astonished by its similarity to a crocodile:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crocodile chocolate and hazelnut cake

I don’t know if it’s easier to see what I mean slightly closer up:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Can you see the crocodile in this cake?

The whole hazelnuts on top were such a tasty touch that it would have been nice to have had more of them decorating the cake. However, had that been the case, it wouldn’t have looked like a crocodile, which would have been a great pity.

A unique cake and a very happy memory.

36 thoughts on “Crocodile cake

  1. I SO want a piece of crocodile cake now! I can see exactly what you mean! It looks divine. Perhaps a visit to Perth is in order… soon, if it is closing for winter!

  2. I’d feel mean eating his eyes now! 🙂 What a shame that even in a town like Perth tourism can’t support the teashop for a little while longer. If it was a little nearer I’d come and do my bit.

    • I’m not entirely sure why they close for the winter, but it’s the only cafe I know of in Perth that does. It’s run entirely by volunteers, so maybe they have other commitments over the winter months. It’s such a gem of a place though, well worth visiting during the open season if you’re ever in the vicinity.

  3. I can vouch for the quality at this particular eatery. But don’t go at lunchtime because the local ladies take up all the tables mid-morning and stay there nursing half drunk cups of tea. But if I lived locally I would do the same so I can’t really blame them.

    • Oops, I might be one of those ‘local ladies.’ 🙂 I’m delighted to hear you’ve been and enjoyed it. Lunchtimes can be very busy though, you’re right. Get in early or leave it till a bit later.

  4. Looks tasty as always Lorna. It must be sad to think the tearoom will close up for a bit, (but at least you can get in there and enjoy all it’s delicious treats) before it goes. As for the crocodile cake, I think it’s quite charming and I can imagine a frosted peppermint concoction would go down a treat 🙂

    • It’s always a sad time of year as regards this tearoom, but I look forward to the reopening next spring, which will be a time of great joy. A frosted peppermint concoction sounds very enticing indeed.

Leave a Reply

