Fergus McInnes

By brother, Fergus McInnes, went missing in Geneva, Switzerland, on Tuesday 9 September 2014.

Fergus Facebook profile photograph hillwalking

Fergus walking in the hills, one of his many hobbies.

He was due to attend a work conference in the Swiss town of Martigny the following day, and to meet his colleagues that evening for a meal.

He boarded the 09:35 EasyJet flight at Edinburgh airport and was seen on CCTV in Geneva airport around 13:00, where he bought a train ticket that we believe was a return to Martigny.

Nothing has been seen of him since.

He did not arrive at the meeting point that evening to go for a meal, he did not check into his hotel room and he did not appear at the conference. He also failed to catch his return flight to Edinburgh on 11 September.

His mobile phone has not been switched on since he switched it off for the flight, nor has he checked his emails since the morning of Tuesday 9 September. The last bank transaction he made was the purchase of a train ticket in Geneva airport when he used a debit card.

Fergus_at_Geneva_airport_CCTV_pic

CCTV picture of Fergus at Geneva Airport on 9 September 2014.

One of his colleagues who attended the conference in Martigny reported him missing to the Scottish Police, and they launched a missing person inquiry. Shortly after that it became a separate Swiss inquiry, and both inquiries are ongoing.

We are all utterly mystified about his disappearance and, with a lack of clues about where he might have gone or what might have happened to him, we fall back on endless and wide-ranging theories.

Friends of his have set up a blog called Missing Fergus McInnes, to keep people updated on the investigation into his disappearance. You can get to it by clicking on the blog name below:

 

Missing Fergus McInnes

 

They are monitoring all comments, and passing anything that might be relevant on to the police.

Fergus headshot 2009

It’s now been over three weeks since he disappeared and, despite media campaigns in Switzerland and France, as well as in the UK, there is no indication of where he might be.

The blog contains a list of unanswered questions, which we dearly wish we could get answers to.

The police in both Switzerland and Scotland are doing all they can to discover what happened to him after he was last seen in Geneva.

We remain hopeful of a good outcome.

Family lunch at Flora's July 09_1

Family gathering (Fergus top left).

 

121 thoughts on “Fergus McInnes

  1. Lorna, what an awful thing to have to be dealing with. I am so sorry to hear about this, and am thinking of you and your family, and also hoping that you will have news soon. Trish.

  2. Hello Lorna, I was really pleased to see there was a new post from you, but what perfectly horrid news. I really hope your brother turns up safe and sound in the near future. In the mean time I’m rooting for you!

  3. Lorna – Like others, I was so happy to see an update from you, but soon realized it was not a regular entry. I believe very strongly in the power of prayer, and you can be assured of my prayers for your family. Blessings to you during this difficult time.

  4. Fergus and I were in the same primary calss at D’Mains and both attended RHS – we had re-established contact by email a few years ago and were recently corresponding.If I can do anything or be a friendly ear to listen please do not hesitate to contact me.My thoughts are with you and all the family.

    • Thank you Jean, that’s very kind. This is a very worrying time for all of Fergus’s friends and family, but his friends have created a great support network on Facebook and the blog and we’re extremely grateful to them for that.

  5. My dear Lorna, I have been thinking about you and your family ever since I heard about this sad news. I can be included in with those praying for your brother’s safe return. Sending hugs to you and your dear parents.

  6. Lorna I too was pleased to see you had a post but my happiness quickly turned to sadness when I read about Fergus. I feel helpless but hope he will be found safe and sound soon!

  7. I shared this on Facebook and Twitter as you never know who has friends in Switzerland and may pass the info on. It sounds like a really worrying time for you. Hoping for the best.

    • That’s very kind. We really appreciate the way people have shared the story and it’s amazing how many people in Switzerland have already found out about it via social media. We could never have done all that on our own, so thank you.

  8. Lorna, my heart goes out to you and your family. I cannot imagine the pain, fear, bewilderment, and worry you must all be feeling. This is just stunning. I’m so sorry. Wishing for a positive resolution and an answer to your brother’s disappearance. With love and support.

  9. Dear Lorna, I can’t find words to express my dismay and sadness at this post. I, too, will be praying for Fergus and for your family. Please give my love to the Delightful Assistants, and a huge to yourself too. X

  10. Hello again, Lorna. Just to say I have posted about Fergus, with a link to this post, and to the website. xox

  11. Dear Lorna,
    My heart goes out to you and your family. You must be so bewildered and anxious…my prayers are with you all and hope that a positive resolve occurs very soon. Sincerely, Linda

    • Thank you kindly, Linda. Bewildered and anxious is exactly what we’re feeling. I believe he’s safe somewhere, but how and why he disappeared is utterly bewildering and we can’t help feeling anxious about his wellbeing. Your prayers are much appreciated.

  12. So sorry to hear of this, Lorna. I will keep you, your dear parents and, of course, Fergus in my thoughts and prayers. Hope very much for a positive outcome.

    Wendy in NH

  13. Wow, Lorna. I can’t tell you how sorry I am to hear this. What a terrible strain it must be putting on you and your family. I’ll be praying extra hard for Fergus, and for all of you. xoxo

    • Thank you, Lucinda, that’s most kind. I’m afraid you’re right about the strain, it’s the waiting and not knowing that’s so difficult. The police are working hard to find him and we must put our trust in them and remain hopeful. Having people praying and sending us their supportive comments is enormously comforting.

  14. I have been off the grid for a whole month and just got back from Australia to hear this heartbreaking news. This is very worrying. And please dear sister, there’s no need to respond to my comment or anything but know I am posting this on my FB page and alerting my contacts in Geneva. Meanwhile prayers, hugs and good thoughts to you and to my sweet adopted parents.

  15. Reblogged this on Crazy Train To Tinky Town and commented:
    One of our blogging friends Lorna from Lorna’s Tearoom Delights needs our help. Her brother went missing from in Geneva, Switzerland, on Tuesday 9 September 2014. Imagine if it was your brother, son or dad that had disappeared and you had no clue as to his whereabouts, hoping that every phone call or email would bring news. I can’t imagine the distress that Lorna and her family are going through so can I ask if you are unable to reblog that you share on your Facebook or RT on Twitter. Let’s help to get Fergus home to his family.

  16. I read about Fergus from Dallas at CrazyTraintoTinkyTown, and my first gut feeling after reading your post was he went for a walk after arriving in Martigny, and something happened there. But, after reading about him on the site, I’m not so sure. I have no contacts in Scotland or Switzerland, but I will pray he is found, and alive. God bless. – Kaye

    • Thank you Kaye. That was one of our first thoughts as well, and it may yet be true. There are a number of reasons for believing that he did reach the Martigny area, and going for a walk sounds very much the sort of thing he would do, but sadly we have no way of confirming or refuting it as yet.

  17. Reblogged this on 50 Shades of Gray Hair and commented:
    A friend in need…
    As a community, I’d say bloggers are pretty tight knit for a group of folks that have never met. Please help spread the word for one of our own, as others have and I am now…PLEASE SHARE, our pages reach thousands…but it only takes one.

  18. I’ve heard the call from our mutual friend Dallas, and though we’ve not met, I am more than willing to share. I’ve reblogged on my page, posted on my Facebook page, and placed it on Twitter. I pray for his safe return.

      • You are very welcome and I consider myself lucky to be in a community which attracts those such as Dallas. She is a very special gal. Best wishes, my hopes and prayers are for your brother’s safe return, and your family’s peace of mind. God Bless. xo

  19. Hells teeth – where to start I am angry I managed to miss this – but then what to say that hasn’t been said already that would add any real value – so we will remember you and Fergus in our prayers and ask for his safe return – I pushed out a Tweet and will put it on LinkedIn – I will reblog tonight when I’m back in, if I don’t cause I get distracted please nudge me – Scott, Mandy and family 🙏

  20. Lorna, I’ve just read of your tragic loss, on Scott’s blog. I’m so sorry for you and your family. I pray that you will receive positive news very soon. I just can’t imagine what you’re going through. *hugs* Sylvia

  21. Sorry, Lorna. I just picked up on this on Scott’s reblog too. I could hardly believe it at first, and you’ve been living with this a long time now. What a sad Christmas for you all. I will tweet etc and beyond that hope and pray.

  22. So so sorry for all this. Still in shocky. I’ll go on praying for him and for all of you to find some kind of comfort for the unwanted that happened. I hope I could be doing more than praying but distance makes this impossible.
    Love and blessings from Marcela x
    Argentina

Leave a Reply

