Enter 2015

I was inspired the other day by reading a post by fellow blogger, Darlene Foster, about building on the success of 2014. (You can read it by clicking on her name.)

In the post she details the goals she set herself for 2014, and reports on how she got on with them.

Towards the end of December 2013,  I did a post about my resolutions for the coming year. My main aim was to keep a note of all the books I read throughout 2014.

I started a blog about it, which I made private after a while to take the pressure off having to write decent English, and I’m pleased to report that I managed to stick to my goal.

I was hoping for a minimum of 60 books, and by last night my final count was 66, with more than three times as many fiction as non fiction. I had imagined the split would be more equal, but since I’m attempting to get my own stories published, perhaps it’s advisable to spend more time immersed in fictional worlds.

On that topic, I entered a number of short story competitions last year, none of which I won. I also failed to get any stories published in magazines that I submitted to. I felt despondent at the time, but now that we’re starting a new year I’m putting all that behind me and cracking on with more writing, in the hope that one of these days I’ll produce something publishable.

When it comes to resolutions and, for that matter, daily ‘to-do’ lists, it’s helpful to throw in some easily achievable targets alongside the more challenging ones, which leads me to my other main goal for 2015.

As mentioned in a previous post, I’m aiming to consume at least 52 different chocolate confections throughout the year and write about them on one of my other blogs, Any Old Excuse. I’ve posted about a few already, as a sort of warm-up act.

Whatever your goals or ambitions for 2015, I wish you well with them and hope that the coming year is full of pleasant events that cheer and comfort you.

Happy new year!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m looking forward to seeing some spring flowers, like these beauties outside the excellent Storehouse of Foulis near Dingwall (top tip for lunch if you’re ever in that neck of the woods needing refreshments).

28 thoughts on “Enter 2015

  1. 66 books, wow!! I managed to read less that half that amount last year. Keep sending out your stories to contests and magazines etc. It is good practice and keeps the writing muscles active. It took me a long time to finally win a contest and get published in an anthology. Some of those early stories I have reworked and been successful with. Love your chocolate blog!! Thanks for the mention. All the best for 2015 to you and your parents.XO

  2. Lorna, well done on your amazing total of books! That’s brilliant – well over one a week. I admire people who publish their resolutions and then an update about how they’ve got on. Crikey, I keep mine to myself! 🙂 I don’t think you should be discouraged by publishers – remember how many times some famous authors were refused, before they found a publisher. Meanwhile your chocolate challenge sounds like a great idea! I have enjoyed your offerings so far. I love your photo of the miniature daffs – just what was needed on a dreary morning. Wishing you all peace and happiness in 2015.

    • Thank you Jo, I do remind myself that every writer I’ve ever heard of has had to deal with rejection. Now that I’ve had a few rejections, however, I sometimes feel I don’t want to risk any more, because it would be awful to have years worth of rejections and never get published. On the other hand, if I don’t keep trying I will never get published. On the whole, I think not giving up is a good plan.

  3. I sincerely hope that 2015 is a better year for you and the family Lorna. Well done on reading so many books. You are a great writer so keep going!

  4. Lorna, it’s lovely to see you writing again. you have a real knack for writing and I wish you all the best this year with your goals. I wish you a restful and rejuvenating year for 2015. it’s really good to hear from you. 🙂

    • What a lovely comment, Alison, thank you. My fellow bloggers have helped me enormously on the writing front, and I’m very grateful for that. I hope 2015 holds many good things for you, too.

  5. I’m no good at the list writing. Maybe that’s why I don’t achieve much 😦 Good luck with the writing in 2015, Lorna. I’m all for going forward. 🙂

    • I don’t believe for a minute that you don’t achieve much, I’ve seen the adventures you have on your blog. It seems to be a fact though, that there are list writers and non-list writers, and most of us fall very definitely into one or other category. Here’s to going forward, I’m all for that. 🙂

  6. Hi Lorna… I have followed you for a while now …love the chocolate blog . You have given me a shove in the right direction ( for that I thank you) I adore reading but I’m not getting through enough books . So I’m trying to read three at a time, but it just don’t work, because I don’t get anywhere . So I am going for two a month ( one at a time lol)
    I really admire you for entering competitions . Keep at it you will get something I am sure …’He Who Dares’.
    This year I aim to get something published. Last year my challenge to myself was to write for half an hour every morning. It worked… I have wrote about fifteen novellas , I am so proud of of myself for sticking to it .
    We will get there just keep believing .
    Cherryx

    • Hi Cherry, thanks for your comment. Sorry I didn’t see it before, it was in my ‘pending’ messages. Two books a month seems like a good goal to me. Going by my annual total it looks as if I read a book every 5-6 days, but in fact some take much longer than that. I usually have at least two books on the go at a time, one for daytime and the other for bedtime. Fifteen novellas is an amazing achievement, and it’s great that you’re disciplined enough to write every morning. I try to do that too, although it doesn’t always work. Best of luck with your writing this year, it sounds as if you have plenty of work to submit to publishers, or are you thinking of self-publishing? Either way, I wish you all the very best with it, and thank you for your encouragement.

  7. Happy New Year!!!! I love goal setting as well and I also would like to keep a book list (as my memory is rubbish!)

    I may have to steal the chocolate goal from you:)

    Cheers!!!!

    • Happy new year to you, Cheryl. I had been meaning to keep a book list for years, in fact I started one several times and then gave up, so sticking to it for a whole year has been a satisfying business. I can heartily recommend the chocolate goal. 🙂

  8. You far outdid me, Lorna. I managed something like 20 books – which seems so paltry. I love to read, but reserve it for right before bed and unfortunately, I don’t last long so only get a chapter or two read before falling asleep!

    • 20 books is great, especially if they’re books you’ve enjoyed. I also read at bedtime, but I go to bed really early in order to get an hour or two’s reading in. I also read over breakfast, which might be a bit unsociable if you share breakfasts with someone else, but I get up early in order to have that time to myself.

  9. What an incredible achievement Lorna! I remember some time ago, when you took your hiatus to focus solely on writing, suffice it to say it was a great success. Whatever trials or tribulations the last year has bought, I hope 2015 brings much happiness and opportunity for you. Extra chocolate included of course!

    • Thanks Alice, having goals written down does seem to make a difference, for me at least. I doubt I’d have got my tearoom book done if I hadn’t made myself write it down as a goal to achieve by a certain time. 2015 is going to be an exciting one for you, and I look forward to reading about it. 🙂

  10. Wow. That’s wonderful that you read so many books. That just reminded me of all the books I DIDN’T read last year. I think this just inspired me to take a look at my book list again before I become a complete illiterate. Happy New Year to you and yours, Lorna!

    • Thank you Lucinda, the trouble with books is that there are always so many we don’t read. I can think of quite a few I’ve been meaning to read for years and haven’t got round to yet. On the other hand, they’re a joy to look forward to.

  11. A very Happy New Year to you, Lorna! I’m so glad you are refusing to be discouraged about placing your writing. As others have said, you are a very good writer. I’m sure it will happen. I hope 2015 brings you and your family many good things.

    • And to you, Christine, thank you. I don’t know about refusing to be discouraged, sometimes I do feel very discouraged, but I suppose you have to keep going if you really want something. I daresay all this rejection is character building.

Leave a Reply

