List of books read in 2014

In response to a request from Connie in my last post, this post contains a list of the books I read last year.

Divided into fiction and non fiction, they’re listed in the order that I read them (although I jumped about between fiction and non fiction throughout the year).

Although the oldest non fiction title was published in 1997, about half of the fiction was published before that. The oldest fiction title on the list is Rudyard Kipling’s “Kim”, which was first published in 1901. This edition (below) was printed in 1957 and belonged to my grandmother.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s probably not very difficult after skimming the list to guess that Agatha Christie is one of my favourite authors. I had previously read all of those on the list, bar one. I’m extremely grateful that she was so prolific, because I can read and re-read her books without returning to the same ones too soon after they were last read. There are 12 of her books on my 2014 list, and I fully anticipate devouring a similar number this year.

One of the best finds for me last year was Eric Ambler (1909-1998), who wrote spy stories. After reading “Cause for alarm”, which I came across by chance in the library, I sought out some others and three of them are on this list. I did start a fourth one that he wrote later in life, but I couldn’t get through it.

Another highlight last year was reading two creations by fellow bloggers, Shona Patel and Annie Oliverio. Shona’s book is a fictional story set in India and Annie’s is a non fiction guide to caring for someone who’s dying. I found both of these books outstandingly well written and compelling.

Fiction

“Hector and the search for happiness” by François Lelord (2002)

“Mutiny on the Bounty” by John Boyne (2008)

“Maskerade” by Terry Pratchett (1995)

“Seven dials” by Anne Perry (2003)

“Murder in the museum” by Simon Brett (2004)

“The curious incident at Claridge’s” by R T Raichev (2010)

“The scheme for full employment” by Magnus Mills (2003)

“A judgement in stone” by Ruth Rendell (1997)

“Miss Buncle’s Book” by D E Stevenson (1934)

“Teatime for the firefly” by Shona Patel (2013)

“The collected stories of Rumpole” by John Mortimer (2012)

“The affair of the bloodstained egg cosy” by James Anderson (1975)

“Five star billionaire” by Tash Aw (2013)

“The island” by Victoria Hislop (2005)

“The witness at the wedding” by Simon Brett (2005)

“Second time around” by Marcia Willett (1997)

“The house on the cliff” by D E Stevenson (1966)

“Sleeping murder” by Agatha Christie (1976)

“The best man to die” by Ruth Rendell (1969)

“Shroud for a nightingale” by P D James (1971)

“The behaviour of moths” by Poppy Adams (2008)

“Easter Island” by Jennifer Vanderbes (2003)

“Sleeping Tiger” by Rosamunde Pilcher (1967)

“Dumb witness” by Agatha Christie (1937)

“Deadline” by Barbara Nadel (2013)

“Cause for alarm” by Eric Ambler (1938)

“Cover her face” by P D James (1962)

“The good thief’s guide to Vegas” by Chris Ewan (2010)

“Skios” by Michael Frayn (2012)

“Kim” by Rudyard Kipling (1901)

“Journey into fear” by Eric Ambler (1940)

“The Bad Quarto” by Jill Paton Walsh (2007)

“Every man for himself” by Beryl Bainbridge (1996)

“Epitaph for a spy” by Eric Ambler (1938)

“Gaudy night” by Dorothy L Sayers (1935)

“The bride’s farwell” by Meg Rosoff (2009)

“Devices and desires” by P D James (1989)

“Trent’s own case” by E C Bentley and H Warner Allen (1936)

“The pale horse” by Agatha Christie (1961)

“They came to Baghdad” by Agatha Christie (1951)

“The body in the library” by Agatha Christie (1942)

“A pocket full of rye” by Agatha Christie (1953)

“A murder is announced” by Agatha Christie (1950)

“The Thief” by Ruth Rendell (2006)

“The moving finger” by Agatha Christie (1943)

“The Sittaford Mystery” by Agatha Christie (1931)

“Blood at the bookies” by Simon Brett (2008)

“Destination unknown” by Agatha Christie (1954)

“Ordeal by innocence” by Agatha Christie (1958)

“And then there were none” by Agatha Christie (1939)


Non-fiction

“Pirates, Plants and Plunder” by Stewart Ross (2005)

“The idle traveller’ by Dan Kieran (2012)

“The lost city of Z” by David Grann (2009)

“A terminal illness primer for caregivers” by Ann Oliverio (2014)

“Mindset” by Carol Dweck (2006)

“Sea legs” by Guy Grieve (2013)

“59 seconds” by Professor Richard Wiseman (2009)

“Affluenza” by Oliver James (2007)

“Arthur Conan Doyle – beyond Sherlock Holmes” by Dr Andrew Norman (2007)

“Up with the larks” by Tessa Hainsworth (2009)

“Quirkology” by Professor Richard Wiseman (2007)

“Seagulls in the attic” by Tessa Hainsworth (2010)

“Round Ireland with a fridge” by Tony Hawks (1997)

“The mould in Dr Florey’s coat” by Eric Lax (2004)

“Screw it, let’s do it” by Richard Branson (2006)

“Himalaya” by Michael Palin (2004)

*   *   *   *   *

This morning I finished a non fiction book I started reading a couple of weeks ago. Having got into the habit of keeping a note of books last year I might as well carry on and see if I can do it for two years running.

Thanks to Professor Richard Wiseman, my year got off to a spooky start with the book below. I like a bit of the paranormal now and then, so I’m hoping for a few more ghoulish surprises in the next 12 months.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

25 thoughts on “List of books read in 2014

  1. A great list! You are so lucky to have your grandmothers wonderful copy of “Kim”.´What a treasure. I have to be careful not to read real scary stories as I get nightmares. One never tires of Agatha Christie. Anne Perry and Ruth Rendell are great writers too. Keep reading.

    • Thanks Darlene, I like the idea of passing books down to the next generation for them to enjoy, especially if it’s a book the original owner has prized. I’m with you on scary stories, at least at bedtime. Ruth Rendell, Anne Perry and Agatha Christie have all kept me awake at nights.

    • Thanks Sylvia, although I don’t feel as if I’m an especially big reader. My mum gets through at least twice as many book as I do, I’ve a long way to go to catch up with her. Enjoy your Agatha Christie, it’s always a pleasure to revisit her.

  2. Oh my, what a list!! Besides getting through the weekly New Yorker, the only real noteworthy book I read was “Unbroken” (far better than the film btw). Glad to know there are such strong readers in this world!! xxoo

  3. Wow, well done, Lorna! What a fantastic list. I haven’t read any of those except Michael Palin’s (and a couple more of his). He is an entertaining writer. I would be interested to know what you think of ‘Paranormality’.

    • Thanks Jo, ‘Himalaya’ was one of my favourite books of the year. I’d only ever glanced at the pictures before, that’s the trouble with large coffee table books. I’ve got a volume of his diaries that I’d like to tackle this year. ‘Paranormality’ was another excellent book. Richard Wiseman doesn’t believe in the supernatural, as such, and so he’s out to convince the reader that everything ‘spooky’ can be explained by other means. My mum, dad and I have different tastes in books but we all read it and enjoyed it. I would certainly recommend it, it’s very entertainingly written.

  4. Thank you so much, Lorna! I already had some of those on my “to read” list. You have now motivated me to get started!

  5. Very impressive list with some of my favourites in there, Kim and Gaudy Night, and the non-fiction looks really good (I used to work in brain research). Can I shamelessly suggest Border Line by Hilary Custance Green?

    • You might enjoy some of those popular psychology titles. Many congratulations on getting Border Line into print! I see it’s available on Amazon and I have a birthday coming up, so a little nudge to someone might be in order. Thank you for the recommendation. 🙂

  6. Definitely a few of my favorites there, Lorna, like Rosamunde Pilcher and Agatha Christie. I can’t believe it, I see you and I have both read “Round Ireland with a fridge”. It was a good laugh.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed ‘Round Ireland with a fridge’, Alison. Have you read ‘Playing the Moldovans at tennis’? I think that’s my favourite by Tony Hawks. I don’t know how he writes with such consistent wit, there seems to be a gag in every sentence (not quite, but it feels like it at times).

  7. So fascinating to see your list! I’ve never really enjoyed murder mysteries – with the exception of Tony Hillerman’s books which were set on an Indian reservation in the American SouthWest. It’s also so good to know that other bloggers have published good books this past year. I wish you all the best with your writing, Lorna – and reading.

    • Thanks Christine, I’ve never come across Tony Hillerman. Do you know, I went to the library today in the hunt for something a bit different to read in the fiction line, but despite reading the blurbs on the backs of dozens of books, virtually all of them were either murder mysteries or romances. What’s happened to all the other stories? Much as I enjoy a murder mystery, I think it’s a great pity that they seem to have taken over the fiction world.

  8. Hello Lorna. I love your selection of books! I just bought “The Witness at the Wedding” by Simon Brett at my favourite second hand bookstore. It’s next in the line of books I’ve yet to read. I have to always have a lot on hand or I start to panic! I was pleased to see your likes on my latest posts, thanks! I haven’t posted in almost a year. 2014 was not a good year. I think about you and your family often. Is there any news on your brother? There’s always hope.

    • I hope you enjoy your Fethering Mystery. I’ve read that one but I can’t remember the details now. They’re real page turners, aren’t they? I gobble them up too fast. I know what you mean about needing to have books lined up, it’s a great comfort to have a stash of new reading material. I’m sorry to hear that 2014 wasn’t a good year for you and I hope 2015 more than makes up for it. No news on Fergus, I’m afraid. I’d be surprised if we do get any news after all this time, but you never know.

  9. Lorna, I am so glad that you are back. You and your family have been in my thoughts many times and I am hoping that the new year will bring you peace and happiness. I have found that reading can help to bring solace and healing. Maybe that is because the mind becomes lost in the stories and is freed, at least for awhile, from worry. Your list is most impressive. These days I am drawn to the history of the Pueblo and Navajo of the American Southwest and I read all that I can on that topic. I have read Tony Hillerman but also love Agatha Christie and, more recently, Louise Penney. Welcome back….. and I do love chocolate 😊.

    • Thank you Wendy, that’s very kind. I completely agree with you about the benefits of reading. For me, it’s often escapism, as you describe. When you get caught up in another person’s world through a book it’s a wonderful thing. Another shout out for Tony Hillerman, I’ll need to keep a lookout for this chap. I’ve heard of Louise Penny and I’ve got a vague recollection that I might have read something by her but I’m not sure. I haven’t read any Agatha Christie yet this year, but I feel the urge to indulge.

  10. That’s an impressive list. I need to read a bit more non-fiction this year. I enjoyed my dabble into historical fiction last year but I haven’t decided on my reading challenge for this year.

    • I’m thinking along the same lines. I was surprised by how much more fiction I read last year than non fiction and I’m attempting to redress the balance this year. So far, fiction is still outstripping non fiction, but I have a few non fiction I’m looking forward to getting through. I hope you find a reading challenge to stimulate you inspire you.

Leave a Reply

