Daffodils and chocolate

Last April I happened to pass a large patch of beautiful daffodils outside Strathtay Parish Church.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Strathtay Parish Church with daffodils.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A carpet of yellow beauties in front of Strathtay Parish Church.

Strathtay is a pretty little village situated in Highland Perthshire. I’ve often thought that if I had a spare million or two I wouldn’t mind taking a leaf out of J K Rowling’s book and splashing out on one of the local mansions.

The area is one of the destinations the delightful assistants and I often seek out, particularly in the warmer weather, and the fact that the neighbouring village of Grandtully contains an award winning chocolate shop and cafe is certainly an additional lure.

P1090576

A well filled cup of hot chocolate at Legends of Grandtully.

It’s not only daffs that Strathtay is good for either. Come May the roadside banks break out in a profusion of bluebells.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bank of bluebells in Strathtay.

One of my aims for the year is to visit Strathtay in both April and May and get some more snaps of spring flowers. As it happens I also have what could be considered a voucher for the chocolate shop. On a recent birthday I received a note from the delightful assistants. I’ve got it stuck on my pinboard to remind me of pleasures to come.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The difficulty of how to spend this voucher has been bothering me for the past week (a pretty pleasant sort of bothering, I admit). I’ve considered several of my favourite chocolate treats, but I haven’t yet been able to make up my mind.

In any event, while I mull over this important decision I think a trip to Strathtay might be in order. It’ll be a while yet before the daffs appear, but thankfully the chocolatier and cafe are open all year round.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Strathtay Parish Church hiding behind trees and daffs. Chocolate just out of sight.

26 thoughts on “Daffodils and chocolate

  1. Daffodils and chocolate, two of my favourite things. I love the picture of the parish church sitting amongst the daffs. So sweet. Have fun using your voucher. What a nice idea.

  2. That cup overflowing with chocolate is so beautiful. I went to the Lake country 15 years ago just to see fields of daffodils as Wordsworth was a favorite poet of mine. It was worth the trip and I am not a fan of flying. 😄

    • You visited the Lake District? It’s lovely, isn’t it? Unfortunately rather full of tourists all year round (I went one November expecting it to be nice and empty but no such luck). Wordsworth certainly had a thing or two to say about daffodils. That hot chocolate was a magnificent specimen.

  3. I’ve been to the chocolate shop in Grantully Lorna but didn’t sample the hot chocolate. The folk rafting on the river provided great entertainment!

    • Ooh, did you buy anything at the chocolate shop? It’s quite pricey but they have some truly delectable treats. The cafe’s well worth a visit for the hot chocolate, and they do a superb fruit slice. It is entertaining to see the rafters, particularly at that bit near the shop where there’s white water.

  4. Ahh, perfection in a single post! Chocolate, (also hot chocolate), daffodils and bluebells! Heaven! Thank you, Lorna! 🙂 That church looks absolutely beautiful. I can’t wait for the daffodils to come out, and ‘bluebell time’ is just magical. Spring will be very welcome, when it comes!

    • Ah, that’s a happy thought, playing amongst the bluebells. There are woods near me that often have a magnificent display of bluebells. The combination of woods and bluebells is quite magical.

  5. What kind, delightful assistants to have Lorna , wow what a voucher , store it away somewhere safe . Daffodils are my ultimate favorite flower and you have captured the essence brilliantly . The bluebells are a delight ..what an exceptional place you live and the hot chocolate …mmmm don’t even go there I am in heaven and I only got out of bed .
    Cherryx

    • I’m not letting that voucher out of my sight, Cherry, you can be sure of that. I’m so glad to have been able to provide your favourite flower. A swathe of daffs is a good start to the day.

  6. My first daffs are out, and I am already impatient for more, but tomorrow I have a huge bag of soil improver due and hours of barrowing, so I’ll have to defer the tranquility. I love the Delightful Assistants promissory note. Our Delightful Assistants (next generation down) gave us a promissory note for Christmas, which we are cashing in in April in Tuscany.

    • This is what comes of living that bit further south. I hope you get on well with your gardening task. It sounds like a lot of work, but the great thing about work is that it earns you treats. April in Tuscany, how romantic that sounds and what a wonderful gift. I hope you’ll be posting about it on you blog in due course.

Leave a Reply

