Puddings

The delightful assistants and I lunched out today at the consistently excellent Gloagburn Coffee Shop near Perth.

Gloagburn coffee shop

Gloagburn Coffee Shop near Perth.

After enjoying fairly substantial main courses we all felt inclined to finish off with a pudding.

Delightful assistant no.1 went for a fresh fruit pavlova. Although it’s not shown in this picture, there was a little jug of pouring cream on the side. She slooshed the cream over the pavlova and polished it all off nicely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fresh fruit pavlova (with hidden jug of pouring cream).

Delightful assistant no.2 chose an apple and almond cake, nobly refusing the offer of cream or ice cream to accompany it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Moist and almondy apple and almond cake (no cream).

I was the only one who had a good look at the cake counter, but I did what I always knew I would do and went for a scone. On this occasion it was a fruit scone, served with butter and raspberry jam.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fruit scone with butter and raspberry jam (I was offered cream in place of the butter, but I thought of my arteries and declined).

We chatted away companionably during our savoury courses but, as delightful assistant no.1 has often remarked, conversation tends to cease during pudding, and so it was today. I, for one, was lost in a sort of scone-filled paradise, concentrating solely on the delicious morsel on my plate.

When it comes to awarding points for things I usually like to leave a little room for improvement, so that a really good example of something might only get 8 or 9 out of 10. However, this scone was so utterly magnificent that, despite coming hot on the heels of a baked potato, I am unable to award it anything less than the full 10/10.

When I mentioned this to delightful assistant no.2 he suggested that I had been in ‘scone nirvana’. I couldn’t have put it better myself.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sconirvana.

34 thoughts on “Puddings

  1. The desserts all look great. You will be pleased to know that my hubby, another scone connoisseur, has found a coffee shop here in Spain that makes awesome scones! I think I would have chosen the almond apple cake. Looks like a nice bright place too.

    • I’m so pleased for him on the scone front, that’s wonderful. I’d never have expected to find scones in Spain. The almond apple cake was apparently very moist and tasty. I liked the look of the flaked almonds on top. I’d have happily had a bit (in addition to the scone) if I’d had room. It’s a lovely cafe.

  2. WOW!!! 10 out of 10 that deserves such a galant title as Sconirvana . I must go to that delightful coffee shop if they serve puddings like that . I like the look of all of them but that scone …mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!
    Cherryx

    • If you like a sweet treat I think you’d be very happy in that coffee shop. I don’t know how many scones I’ve consumed there over the years but I always want to go back for another one. They do rather a splendid lemon meringue pie, too.

  3. I could go a slab of that apple and almond cake right now. And the pavlova and scone wouldn’t be refused either. If it’s the place I’m thinking of, then it isn’t cheap but the quality is undoubtedly high!

  4. Oh my goodness, Lorna, I feel I am so close to those puddings I could bite them! Wonderful photos! The pavlova looks amazing. But so does the apple cake. I wouldn’t have known which to choose.

  5. Wonderful post……. you really take us places, Lorna☺️. I think that I would have ended up choosing the scone. A good scone is so soul pleasing…. especially with a nicely brewed cup of tea. Well, you just can’t beat it.

  6. “Scone nirvana” made me laugh out loud! And of course now I’m hungry… Glad you all got out, and I like Gloagburn too – thanks to your tearoom guide!

Leave a Reply

