Intriguing sights no.8

While driving home from a day out yesterday, the delightful assistants and I were keeping our eyes peeled for a postbox in which we could deposit a birthday card.

Passing through the village of High Valleyfield in Fife, I suddenly spotted the familiar red colour built into a wall by the side of the road and slammed on the brakes.

Delightful Assistant no.2 hopped out of the car with the birthday card and went towards the wall.

Sitting on the ground beneath the postbox was a laminated notice. After reading it he turned back to the car with a smile and the card still in his hand.

On his instruction, I hopped out of the car myself, taking my camera with me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The notice reads as follows:

This postbox is not to be used there will be no pick ups from this box due to nesting birds inside. Royal Mail are aware of this situation and doing all we can to help the birds. Until they choose to leave.

I’m glad to say that we found another postbox entirely empty of birds a bit further along the road.

20 thoughts on “Intriguing sights no.8

    • I hope not, Jo. On reflection I think the notice must have been stuck over the postbox initially, since it has strips of what look like blue tape at the top and bottom. Even sitting on the ground it was obvious to anyone approaching the box, but I suppose maybe not in the dark.

  1. How wonderful that the Royal Mail is not prepared to disturb the birds who have made their home in the mailbox. I don´t think that would happen anywhere else! This post made me feel like there are still some good people in this world. Thanks for sharing. ❤

    • It is rather a nice little story, isn’t it? I think the British are particularly keen on birds, but it’s nice that even a big organisation like the national mail company is affected by this sort of thing.

    • I reckon the notice was probably originally fixed higher up but had fallen off. Hopefully, some helpful soul will wander along with fresh tape in their pocket and remedy the situation. I know very little about making nests but I imagine that the inside of a postbox would be a warm and secure place for baby birds, and the mouth of the box roomy enough for the parents to come and go as they please. Presumably it would also be very difficult for predators to get in. What I’m curious to know is when the nesting birds were first discovered. Was it perhaps when a postie opened the box and found a nest inside? One wonders if any mail was damaged in the making of same.

  2. Awesome… I’ve forwarded this to all my garden club members as we just had a seminar on birds and their nesting places…and birdhouses…this is obviously a lovely bird house 🙂 and so wonderful that it is respected by your postal service….not sure that would happen here in the U.S.

    • That’s great, Linda, I’m sure birds find some very surprising nest sites. I don’t know how many Royal Mail employees would do the same thing but I assume the notice was down to the caring attitude of the particular postie who empties that postbox.

  3. My faith in Royal Mail has just gone up leaps and bounds , not that I haven’t got a lovely postman . It just seems a little stuffy at times an terribly practical …but this notice makes them seem human . Can I come on your tours with your delightful assistants ? You always have mini adventures.
    Cherryx

    • It is reassuring to know that big companies are made up of caring individuals. You come with us every time you read our little adventures, and you’re most welcome. 🙂

  4. I’m frequently amazed by the resourcefulness of birds. They’re tiny little creatures (most of them) in a great big, sometimes harsh, world, and yet they prevail. This cozy nest must be the envy of their little birdie neighborhood. And good on the Royal Mail. A decision like that can only bring them good will. — Lucinda :0) xo

Leave a Reply

