Scones I have known – no.3

The scone in this post is featured, not because it was amongst the finest scones I’ve ever tasted, but because it came as part of a particularly pleasant package.

The weather in most of Scotland over the past week (with the exception of today) has been unusually summery. A few days ago I whisked the delightful assistants off on a magical mystery tour in search of sunshine and tasty fare. It was hard to tell where the best weather might be, but we headed south with hope in our hearts.

On the way we stopped at a service station, and while we were there I picked up a leaflet about East Lothian. Usually, when we go on little excursions of this sort, I check out beforehand the possible eateries in the area we’re heading to. However, on this occasion I hadn’t had time to do that and I hadn’t actually decided where to go until I started driving. I was relying on somehow finding somewhere nice by sheer chance. As it happened, the luncheon gods were smiling on me.

The leaflet mentioned, amongst many other attractions in East Lothian, a place called Smeaton Nursery Gardens and Tearoom. It sounded appealing and, hoping it would be open and dishing up nourishing treats, we scooted off there post haste.

What we met exceeded our expectations. The sun was beaming down gloriously from a blue sky and the tearoom was very peacefully located down a long driveway next to a walled garden.

What’s more they were serving cream teas at only £6 a head, which was remarkably good value. Both delightful assistant no.1 and I plumped for a cream tea, which consisted of a round of sandwiches of our choice (she chose tuna and cucumber and I went for cheese and tomato), a fruit scone with jam and cream and a large pot of tea (there was so much tea, in fact, that we failed to finish it despite me glugging back about four cupfuls).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The scones, although satisfyingly large, were somewhat dry, but given the quantity of tea on offer and the toppings provided I didn’t find this to be a problem.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Scones I have known – no.3: fruit, Smeaton Tearoom, 9 June 2015

Incidentally, thank you to everyone who took part in my Word association post. I’ve written over 2500 words of the story but I’m not even halfway through the list of words I need to incorporate yet. Either I’ll need to do a ruthless editing job or it’s not going to be quite as short a short story as I had anticipated. I hope to post the completed effort before too long.

18 thoughts on “Scones I have known – no.3

  1. What an incredible tea room! I loved those scones. And yes, they must have served a lot of tea if you couldn’t finish it all. It sure is fun to try though!

    Here’s a tea room about an hour away from me near Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia. I see Darlene’s smiling face and realize that I followed over here from her blog, not Robin’s. Sorry about that. Robin has a great blog too if you’re in the mood to look at new things.

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2012/05/22/grow-a-good-mood/

    Babct

  2. That jam is so red. I’m wondering what kind it was. I also have an *inexplicable* craving for scones right now (that I am feeling too tired to make since we have been moving a bunch or furniture around to allow for some minor renovations). On the other hand, I feel I can manage to go and make a cup of tea.

    • It was very red jam and I believe it was strawberry. I have that inexplicable craving frequently, not always brought on by photographs but certainly not suppressed by them. I hope you got your cup of tea if not the accompanying scone. If I could wing you one over the airwaves I’d do it gladly.

  3. I quite like going on a mystery tour …no plans just see what happens . What a lucky find you and the delightful assistants had , a bargain I should say . Can’t wat to hear your story .
    Cherryx

    • Our little outings are often mystery tours, but the mystery is for the assistants rather than for me. On the whole I prefer to know where I’m going but I must admit that this occasion was a very pleasant surprise. I hope the story isn’t going to be a disappointment, I fear it’s rambling on somewhat.

  4. One of my favorite memories of our trip to England and Scotland over 10 years ago was my coming across a darling little tearoom (while my group was off taking an afternoon nap) where they offered a cream tea (I had not heard of this particular type of tea service before that moment)…it was delightful too…this was in Grassington in the Yorkshire Dales (a most wonderful geography)…your large scones slathered with gorgeous clotted cream reminded me of that afternoon…and as I recall, the sun gods were out that day for us too. How fun to just drive and see what you find.

    • That sounds like a wonderful memory, Linda. The Yorkshire Dales would be a perfect place to take a cream tea. I’m glad this post reminded you of that happy occasion. 🙂

  5. All in all I’d say that was a most successful excursion. Those tea goodies look so good, they literally make my mouth water. And at 6 pounds a pop, you can’t possibly go wrong. Did you get to look around the nursery and the garden?

    • It was a bargain all right, Lucinda, and I think it would be right up your street. We did look round the nursery and some of the plants looked very tempting in the sunshine but we managed to resist (although if I’d had my way we’d have driven home with a hanging basket full of trailing fuchsia in the boot).

      • I admire your will power. My eyes get that crazy look when ever I visit a nursery with all the gorgeous flowers, herbs, shrubs and the like. It’s nearly impossible for me to leave one empty handed — until I reach the point where I have no place left to plant or hang anything. (And I’m at that point now. Alas!)

Leave a Reply

