Scones I have known – no.4

Scones are mysterious creatures. Because they don’t have the decoration or icing often associated with other baked treats, their generally plain appearance can hide the truth of what lies within.

I don’t know how many times I’ve approached a scone anticipating its probable taste and texture, sometimes not expecting it to be up to much, only to find that it takes me by surprise and often exceeds expectations.

One such scone I remember well was a treacle affair I had in the quiet environs of Whithorn.

Whithorn is a small town in the south-west of Scotland. It’s a former royal burgh and the location of the first recorded Christian church in Scotland (founded by St Ninian around the year 397). Among its modern day charms is the Pilgrim Tearoom, part of the Whithorn Story Visitor Centre. Since I’ll be in that neck of the woods again soon I’m wondering if I might try and relive the excellent experience I had on a previous visit there.

Gazing upon the scone again now it strikes me as a pretty attractive looking item, but at the time my hopes were far from high. I think I was imagining it might be a bit dried out and tasteless. In fact, it was soft, moist and deliciously treacly, and I would be very glad to have another one just like it.

Scones I have known no.4 - treacle, Pilgrim Tearoom in Whithorn, 13 August 2013

Scones I have known – no.4: treacle, Pilgrim Tearoom in Whithorn, 13 August 2013

18 thoughts on “Scones I have known – no.4

  1. It’s hard to tell just by looking if it’s going to be good or not. And it’s unexpected which ones will be good or bad. I’m glad you enjoyed this one!

    Nancy

    • I’m sorry to hear that Hilary, but I’m afraid it seems to be all too common in top end establishments. In my experience the best scones are usually to be found in small independently run tearooms or on home baking stalls at church fetes and the like. I think scones find their spiritual home, if I can put it like that, in humble surroundings.

  2. That looks fabulous! What a delicious looking scone. A great excuse to go back to Whithorn – somewhere I’ve not yet been, either. Aaaghh, might have to do some baking! 🙂

    • They can be dry, if they’re old or baked for too long, but a fresh, well baked scone can be a truly magnificent experience. I’m glad you’ve discovered the joys for yourself. 🙂

  3. Very interesting about the discrepancy between scones and the establishments they are served in. I hope you are having a great time and having some delicious and memorable scones.

    • Thanks Christine. I must admit that I haven’t sampled scones in many high class establishments, but it has been noticeable in the few I’ve been in that they haven’t been up to much. Strange really, when you consider the relative simplicity of scone making. Perhaps they over complicate it.

  4. Yes, scones are a bit of a risky business… seems they are often served “dried out”…they need to be made fresh and served warm in my opinion…and if I had a restaurant, that’s how I would do them. Have them ready to “bake to order” or at least every 30 minutes put a new batch in the oven..they ARE called a quick bread 🙂

    • Excellent idea, I don’t know why some places sell old scones because if I got one like that I’d be unlikely to go back to that place. I would love to go to your restaurant though. I know the tea and scones, and everything else, would be delicious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

