Dog Awareness Week

Thanks to a postmark on an envelope, I have discovered that this is Royal Mail’s Dog Awareness Week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dog Awareness Week 2015 postmark

On average, eight postal workers a day are attacked by dogs across the UK. The campaign aims to raise awareness of this problem. This is what Royal Mail’s website has to say on the topic:

If you have a dog, here are some tips on what to do to help us deliver your mail quickly, easily and safely.

Keep your dog in

  • Make sure your dog is out of the way before the postman or woman arrives.
  • Place your dog in the back garden or a faraway room.
  • If you have a back garden, make sure your dog can’t get round to the front when the postman calls.

Be careful at the door

  • Shut your dog into another room before you open the front door.
  • Make sure children don’t open the door, as dogs can push past them.

Occupy your dog

  • Give your dog some food or a toy to occupy them while your mail is being delivered.
  • Wait 10 minutes after your mail has arrived to let your pet back into your hallway.
  • Keep your dog calm.

Letter box

  • Consider installing a wire letter basket. It will protect your post, and your postman’s fingers.
  • You could fit a secure mailbox on the edge of your property.

I’m pleased to say that my six little dogs, which like to watch for the postie every day, pose no threat to anyone at Royal Mail.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Six very well behaved little dogs watching for the postie.

16 thoughts on “Dog Awareness Week

  1. I love these instructions! When I used to deliver charity bags we had exactly the same issues. The worst case was always when the dogs were roaming free in the back garden and could get round to attack you before you reached the gate. The most annoying thing was that in such instances it was hard to escape the conclusion that you had made their day!

    • I applaud you for venturing into gardens with dogs on the loose, but even as a dog lover I don’t suppose you’d want to bring them that sort of happiness. Royal Mail suggest to their posties that they always rattle a gate before entering a garden, but I don’t know what the postie’s supposed to do once he/she’s found there’s a dog on the loose, presumably make a decision about whether or not to enter with the mail.

  2. Very good advice, Lorna! It must be a real dilemma to have an aggressive dog standing between you and your work. But I think your little dogs are adorable!

    • I wouldn’t like to have to deal with aggressive dogs in my work, that’s for sure. My little six are about as calm as you could get, and I agree with you that they’re adorable. 🙂

  3. Gosh :/ That is a lot of potential postal-workers out of action at any given time. Here we all have mailboxes at the edge of the property, and there’s a law (for electricity metre-readers, document servers etc.) that a person has to be able to reach your front door without the risk of being attacked by a dog. I suspect though that this law is not nearly always observed. Cute dogs. I remember vaguely you posting about them before.

    • That sounds like a much safer arrangement. I must say, it is handy getting mail posted directly into the house but I’m sure it would be much easier for posties if we adopted your system. You’re right that I did post about my wee dogs before. I received them as a gift from a tearoom owner and was utterly delighted with them.

  4. I had no idea that dog attacks were such an issue for posties. Here in our village no one has a post box, we all have to collect our mail from the post office so no problem with dog attacks here. 🙂

    • I wonder if we would ever try that system here. I imagine people would be up in arms about having to collect their mail from the post office but it does sound sensible and would presumably be much more efficient. I quite often get mail wrongly delivered that’s for another Lorna who lives in the next street. Our names and addresses are so similar that it’s almost bound to happen.

  5. Gosh I am shocked and surprise with the stats . I guess a dogs natural instinct is to protect his property . I think the best advice has to be a secure post box ,a little away from you property , so over excited dogs can’t take a chunk .
    I have a King Charles called Oscar and he’s very happy to let the postie do his job , providing he’s away , as soon as possible , so he can get his valuable beauty sleep . Love your little group of dogs …I hope they don’t snore like Oscar .
    Really enjoying the 5 minute challenge too . I equally can’t believe what comes out of me in five minuets . It’s such good fun and encourages us to continue writing .
    Cherryx

    • I think you’re right Cherry, having postboxes not actually attached to the house would make it safer for posties. The only down side might be that anyone who was housebound couldn’t easily collect their mail, but perhaps there could be some alternative for them. Your dog sounds like an easygoing sort of chap. Mine don’t snore at all, I’m glad to say, they’re very quiet at all times. Glad you’re enjoying the challenge, it’s surprising what you end up writing, isn’t it? Thanks again for telling me about it. 🙂

  6. Strangely enough just this morning some people around me were having a lively discussion about the dangers that dogs pose to people trying to deliver leaflets, or in one case, a lady who called round people’s houses to collect insurance.

Leave a Reply

