Scones I have known – no.7

I consumed this scone only a few hours ago in the Pine Cone Cafe outside Dundee.

Although rather crumbly, the scone was soft inside and crisp outside, and absolutely packed with dried fruit.

It was very reasonably priced at £1.50 (served with butter and jam), and it slipped down a treat with four cups of tea (the teapot was a good size and came with a free refill; I gave it my best shot but didn’t quite manage to drink it all).

Excellent value for money and jolly tasty, to boot. Well done, the Pine Cone.

fruit scone

Scones I have known – no.7: fruit, Pine Cone Cafe outside Dundee, 22 July 2015.

12 thoughts on “Scones I have known – no.7

      • I think of them as one and the same. I like scones with other fruit like blueberries or raspberries or chunks of ginger etc. I have never been a fan of raisins/sultanas (although currents are ok). I usually pick them out and give them to hubby.

        • All of those are excellent ingredients for scones, I agree. There’s a tearoom near me that does superb blueberry scones, really big and utterly delicious. When I’m making scones myself I quite often use dried apricots, and I also like banana in a scone. There are so many good options. As for raisins and sultanas, lucky hubby, I say. 🙂

  1. The pine cone cafe sounds like something out of a children’s book …I love it . I do so miss Scotland …maybe have another visit next year. Hey that was a good price for a scone . Do you think your becoming famous in your area and when they see you coming they give you tea and cakes cost price mmmm. Soon you will be tasting them for free …or you could give up your ‘currant job ‘ sorry about the pun and become a tea and cake taster ho ho !!
    Cherryx

    • I think it’s quite new, Jo, and I was keen to visit after reading positive reports on Trip Advisor. Two other good things about it (other than the food and drink) are that it has lovely views of the surrounding countryside and there’s free parking.

Leave a Reply

