The knits of Ettrickbridge

Last month there was an item on the Scottish news about a yarn bombing episode that had occurred in the village of Ettrickbridge in the Scottish Borders.

Intrigued to witness it first hand, I whisked the delightful assistants off for a day out.

As we approached Ettrickbridge, we got our first indication of what lay ahead as we passed the entrance to Bowhill country estate.

DSC02067

Knitteds hanging from the sign outside Bowhill.

Ettrickbridge is a small, quiet village with one main street running through the middle of it.

DSC01987

As soon as we got there we started spotting odd bits of colour by the roadside, in the form of knitted collars on poles, signs and lamp posts.

DSC01988

DSC01989

DSC01990

The more we looked, the more remarkable were the sights we saw.

DSC01991

DSC01993

DSC02027

Lion water fountain keeping cosy.

A First World War memorial gate outside the parish church had been decorated very nicely with knitted poppies attached to pieces of gauze.

DSC01998

Close to the gate, sitting on the grass by the roadside, was a replica of one of the houses in the village with its tiny owners outside.

DSC02000

On the other side of the road, a bench seat was thick with interesting little knitted items.

DSC02002

DSC02006

The detail was astonishing.

DSC02004

DSC02007

One of my favourite features of the bench was a little lady on a small horse,

DSC02005

although I was also delighted by a wee biddy holding a teapot with fancy teacosy.

DSC02011

Further along the main street we were most impressed by the public telephone box.

DSC02031

DSC02062

Despite being engulfed in knitting it was apparently fully operational.

DSC02030

Along at the far end of the village we spotted a local sitting quietly outside the village hall with her knitting. Perhaps it was she who had been responsible for the yarn bombing.

DSC02053

Delightful assistant no.2 attempted to engage her in conversation but she wasn’t giving anything away.

DSC02035

Delightful assistant no.1 had a go, but she didn’t have any luck either.

DSC02045

The knitting lady was content to allow others the opportunity to unburden themselves, staying resolutely mute herself. She made for very easy company.

DSC02046

Having exhausted ourselves ambling through the village, we made our way back to the car to take ourselves off to our lunch spot.

The tearoom we ate in had an unexpected connection to the knittings of Ettrickbridge – soon to be revealed in another post.

DSC02064

Wildlife-friendly sign in Ettrickbridge. (I did stop, but unfortunately there were no hedgehogs crossing at the time.)

26 thoughts on “The knits of Ettrickbridge

  1. How adorable! I love this post. How much fun you must have had. I love the pictures of your parents chatting with the lady on the bench! So cute. The telephone box is incredible.

  2. Love it! Charming, slightly wacky, and very fun. 🙂 Having said that, I am intrigued by the knitted poppies…will go see what I can find on Google for how-to’s. Cheers Lorna! Tracey

  3. How very delightful and slightly weird! I love the spider, who looks very proud of her handiwork, and I love the decorated bench as well. So much time and creativity has gone into it all. I’m just really intrigued, though! What happens to all the knitted stuff when it rains? Does the phantom furtive knitter run round and gather it all in? A great investigation, Lorna, well done to you all for your findings! I’m looking forward to part two! 😀

    • Thanks, Jo. That was exactly what crossed my mind: what happens when it rains? Apparently, the knitted things get spruced up somehow, but they were left out in all weathers for a whole month. I’m glad we saw them at the beginning rather than the end.

  4. What a brilliant post Lorna!!!! I don’t know where to start………as I worked my way down the photo’s I kept on thinking “I must mention this bit………then, no this bit is better……………then no, not those last two photos, the woman on the seat painting a picture is best…………but then again the spider is amazing………………..aghhhhh, I’m getting so confused……..”
    Basically, all the photos are excellent, as are all the yarn bombs!! The folk of Ettrickbridge are incredible 🙂

  5. What a delightful experience…it’s almost surreal…particularly since I have been so rushed lately that I saved this post to read late at night and at first the title said something about a “yam bombing” and I thought, what the heck is that? Who would use a yam or potato as a weapon…you can imagine my joy as I went through your post and saw all the delightful “YARN bombings” 🙂 made my day reading this one… Thank you Lorna for sharing! Linda

Leave a Reply

