Meikleour Beech Hedge

Earlier this year I did a post about the tallest hedge in the world, which happens to be a few miles away from where I live, next to the village of Meikleour in Perthshire. This is how it looked in the spring with its fresh greenery on show.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Being a beech hedge, the colours change quite spectacularly in the autumn. I’ve often wished I had photographed it in is fiery clothing, but every autumn I failed to do it. I was determined to do it this year and had been waiting for a sunny day, but it’s been dark and damp pretty much every day for weeks. With storms forecast, I took my chances one wet afternoon before all the leaves were blown off.

DSC03338

25 thoughts on “Meikleour Beech Hedge

  1. Well done, Lorna! Fab pics, both of them, and from the same spot as well. I know how hard it is to get a photo of this, because it’s a busy stretch of road. I bet there aren’t as many leaves on it now!

    • Thanks, Jo. It wasn’t very pleasant trying to get the autumn picture because it was so wet and there was a lot of traffic. There’s no pavement on the right hand side either, so I had to keep jumping off the road into soggy grass. I’m glad I took my chance though because, as you say, the leaves are mostly gone now.

  2. That’s absolutely amazing Lorna!!!!! And a fantastic comparison set of photos. I thought the hedge was composed of one of those fast growing conifers from the first photo…………so I was blown away when I saw the second image!!!!! 🙂

  3. That does look like part of a really nice drive, and it is just so darn huge really, isn’t it! Not sure if I’ve asked before, but those curved road markings … do they indicate that there is a driveway entrance there or somesuch? (turning traffic?) We don’t have those. If that is what they are, they look quite handy.

    • It is rather big, but because it’s right next to the road you can almost miss it if you don’t know to look out for it. I’ve always thought those road markings were to indicate that if you’re overtaking you need to get back into your lane because there’s a bend coming up. Now that you mention the driveway though, I wonder if that’s why they’re there because there is a small road off to the right near where the arrows are. I’m sure it’s in the Highway Code, if only I could find my copy.

    • I like the idea of tiny things lurking behind it, but I think it’s just some trees, fields, etc. Then again, if the houses and sheep are so small perhaps they’ve been there all along and nobody knows. I’m going to imagine that from now on, thank you, Shona. 🙂

  4. Well, Lorna, there’s no other word for it: stunning!. What a truly remarkable sight. I love beech – particularly copper beech – but have never seen the green ones in such a show of colour. Wow.

Leave a Reply

